
SITUATION 1: Wrestler A reports to 
the scorer’s table and the referee no-
tices that the wrestler’s shoelaces are 
not contained in lace guards nor are 
they taped around the ankles. The 
laces appear to be double-knotted. Is 
this acceptable? RULING: Yes, Rule 
4-1-3 requires laces to be secured in an 
acceptable fashion. Double-knotting 
meets this requirement.

SITUATION 2: The coach from Team 
B asks the referee to inspect the new 
earguards that were donated by the lo-
cal sporting goods store. The earguards 
are designed for wrestling and are rig-
id and padded. The left earguard con-
tains the sporting goods store logo. The 
right earguard is blank. The earguards 
don’t contain any other logos or trade-
marks or promotional references. Can 
these earguards be worn in competi-
tion? RULING: These earguards can 
be worn as long as the logo is not larger 
than 2¼ square inches. (4-1-4)

SITUATION 3: Wrestler A appears 
at the scorer’s table and has braids/
dreadlocks bound by rubber bands so 
that the hair-length rule is satisfied in 
front, back and on the sides. Since the 
hair is braided in dreadlocks, does the 
wrestler also need to wear a legal hair 
cover? RULING: As long as the hair is 
contained by a legal, hair-control de-
vice the wrestler is not required to also 
wear a legal head cover. (4-2-1)

SITUATION 4: During the special 
equipment inspection, Wrestler B pres-
ents to the referee a set of leg sleeves 
that don’t contain built-in padding. 
Can the referee approve the sleeves 
for use in competition? RULING: No, 
Rule 4-3-5 requires both arm and leg 
sleeves to contain padding.

SITUATION 5: Is it an automatic 
takedown when the defensive wres-
tler’s hand or hands touch the mat? 
RULING: No, Rule 5-25-2 requires the 
hand(s) to touch the mat beyond re-
action time when the legs or torso are 
controlled.

SITUATION 6: From the neutral po-
sition, Wrestler A captured one leg 
of Wrestler B while at the edge of the 
mat. Wrestler B dives out of bounds to 
avoid being taken down. Is this stalling 
or fleeing the mat? RULING: This is 
fleeing the mat. (5-27-1a, 7-3-1)

SITUATION 7: From the neutral po-
sition, both wrestlers are at the edge 
of the mat. Wrestler B has control of 
Wrestler A’s wrist. Wrestler A backs 
out of bounds to stop the match. Is this 
fleeing the mat? RULING: No, Wres-
tler A is stalling. (5-24-3e)

SITUATION 8: During the match, 
Wrestler B’s shoelaces become untied. 
Is this a technical violation? RULING: 
No, this is penalized as stalling. (7-6-6d)

SITUATION 9: During the match, 
Wrestler A has been penalized one point 
for an illegal hold, one point for locking 
hands, and warned for stalling and pe-
nalized for stalling after the warning. 
How many points will the opponent re-
ceive when Wrestler A is penalized for 
stalling following the warning? RUL-
ING: One point for first stalling penal-
ty. (8-1-4, Stalling Penalty Chart)

SITUATION 10: Wrestler A is granted 
an injury time-out. During the evalua-
tion by the appropriate health-care pro-
fessional, it is determined that Wrestler 
A has symptoms of a concussion. Can 
the appropriate health-care profession-

al request the injury time to be extend-
ed? RULING: Yes, the injury time can 
be extended not to exceed five minutes 
per match. [8-2-4b(2)]

SITUATION 11: Wrestler A is penal-
ized for a slam. Wrestler B is awarded 
one point and placed on recovery time. 
Can the appropriate health-care profes-
sional request a two-minute extension 
of recovery time? RULING: No, recov-
ery time in Rule 8-2-2 is not part of the 
extended injury time in Rule 8-2-4.

SITUATION 12: Can an appropriate 
health-care professional request ex-
tended blood time to evaluate a pos-
sible concussion? RULING: No, blood 
time does not allow for extended time. 
(8-2-7)

SITUATION 13: Can a coach, athlete 
or referee request an extension to inju-
ry time to evaluate a possible concus-
sion? RULING: No, only an appropri-
ate health-care professional can request 
an injury time extension. [8-2-4b(2)]

SITUATION 14: Can a wrestler com-
pete with a beard? RULING: Yes, but 
the beard shall be covered with an ap-
proved face mask. (4-2-1)

SITUATION 15: Are wrestlers re-
quired to wear a suitable undergar-
ment under a one-piece singlet, shorts 
designed for wrestling and compres-
sion shorts? RULING: Yes, contestants 
are required to wear a suitable under-
garment under all uniforms. (4-1-1a-c)

SITUATION 16: Does a forfeit count 
as a loss on a wrestler’s record? RUL-
ING: No, it is a forfeit when for any 
reason the opponent fails to appear for 
a match. (5-13)
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SITUATION 17: How many support-
ing points need to be inbounds for a 
takedown to be awarded? RULING: 
Two points of either wrestler or one 
point of both wrestlers. (5-25-1)

SITUATION 18: Can wrestlers use 
tape to modify or adjust their ear-
guards? RULING: No, the uniform, 
including earguards shall be worn as 
intended/designed by the manufac-
turer. (4-1-5)

SITUATION 19: Who is authorized to 
perform skin checks at dual meets and 
tournaments? RULING: A designated 
on-site meet, appropriate health-care 
professional or the meet/tournament 
referees. (3-1-4, 3-1-5)

SITUATION 20: What authorized sig-
nal is the assistant referee allowed to 
use during a match? RULING: The as-
sistant referee is allowed to show the 
referee when hands have been locked 
or grasping clothing. (3-2-2d)


