Saturday's semifinal winners advance to championship games Nov. 26.
Saturday's semifinal winners advance to championship games Nov. 26.

No. 6 Tillamook survived a late rally by No. 2 La Grande to win 28-21 in a 4A football semifinal Saturday at Barlow High School.

The Cheesemakers (10-2) led 28-7 when Judah Werner ran for a seven-yard touchdown on the final play of the third quarter, but the Tigers (9-3) wouldn't go away.

Logan Williams passed to Sam Tsiatsos for a two-yard touchdown and Dominick Carratello ran for a six-yard score to pull La Grande within 28-21 with 5:05 left.

The Tigers got the ball back on their own 31 with 2:42 remaining and drove to the Tillamook 38-yard line, but Tyler Moncrief intercepted Williams, and the Cheesemakers ran out the final 1:35 to seal the win.

Werner rushed for 100 yards and four touchdowns on 29 carries to lead Tillamook, which will play Estacada in the championship game. The Cheesemakers have appeared in only one final, finishing second in 1977.

Williams rushed for 95 yards on 12 carries for La Grande. He completed 6 of 18 passes for 76 yards and one score but was intercepted three times – one each by Moncrief, Parker McKibbin and Eligio Maciel.

No 5 Estacada 14, No. 8 Scappoose 7: Game story


No. 2 Cascade Christian 42, No. 6 Dayton 20: Keith Reed completed 12 of 15 passes for 202 yards and two touchdowns and ran for a score to lead the Challengers (12-0) past the Pirates (9-3) at Cottage Grove High School.

Dayton pulled within 21-20 in the second quarter on a six-yard touchdown pass from Boston Hodges to Zach Smith, but Cascade Christian scored the last three touchdowns to pull away.

The Challengers got a nine-yard touchdown run by Triston Wallace to lead 28-20 at half. Reed threw a 12-yard touchdown pass to Peyton Maurer to make it 35-20 in the third quarter, and Kameron Rague finished the scoring with a three-yard run in the fourth quarter.

Rague finished with 122 yards on 10 carries and Tyler Almay had five catches for 108 yards and one score for Cascade Christian, which outgained Dayton 458-372. The Challengers will go for their first title since 2017 when they meet No. 1 Kennedy in the final.

Nate Arce rushed for 102 yards on 26 carries, Tristan McGann had five catches for 87 yards and one touchdown and Hodges passed and ran for scores for Dayton.

No. 1 Kennedy 15, No. 4 Banks 7: Game story


No. 7 Weston-McEwen 31, No. 3 Colton 30: Easton Berry scored on a two-yard run with nine seconds left to give the TigerScots (9-2) the win over the Vikings (10-2) at Barlow High School.

Weston-McEwen trailed 22-6 at half but rallied behind Berry, who rushed for 81 yards and three touchdowns and completed 8 of 17 passes for 202 yards and one score with two interceptions.

Berry threw a 91-yard touchdown pass to Maddox King and scored on runs of five and four yards, the latter giving the TigerScots a 25-22 lead with 3:58 left in the game.

Colton regained a 30-25 lead with 2:38 remaining when Ben Behrens ran for a 50-yard touchdown and a two-point conversion, but Weston-McEwen answered by driving 80 yards for the winning touchdown.

Both teams finished with 334 yards. Jeb Ethington rushed for 143 yards and two touchdowns to lead Colton, which gained 308 yards on the ground.

Weston-McEwen will play Oakland, a team it defeated 24-16 in Week 2, in the 2A final. The TigerScots have never won a title, finishing second in 1964 and 1996.

No. 1 Oakland 26, No. 4 Heppner 0: Game story


No. 1 St. Paul 46, No. 5 Myrtle Point 22: Clay Smith rushed for 197 yards and two touchdowns on 29 carries and had three tackles for loss as the Buckaroos (10-0) rolled over the Bobcats (7-4) at Cottage Grove High School.

Ralph Pohlschneider ran for 126 yards and one touchdown on eight carries and caught a scoring pass for St. Paul, which amassed 425 rushing yards had big advantages in total yards (507-263) and first downs (30-10). George Pohlschneider threw two touchdown passes, the other going to Warren Rose.

The Buckaroos, who beat Myrtle Point 42-14 in a Special District 1 North division game Sept. 30, led 40-14 at half.

St. Paul, which lost in the semifinals last year and was runner-up in 2018 and 2019, advances to the final to play Lost River, a team it defeated 46-32 on Sept. 17.

Myrtle Point, which was bidding to make its first final since 1961, got two touchdown passes from Logan Backman to Andreas Villanueva.

No. 3 Lost River 40, No. 2 Powder Valley 14: Chase McAuliffe completed 7 of 12 passes for 241 yards and five touchdowns and ran for a score as the Raiders (10-1) coasted past the Badgers (10-1) at Caldera High School.

McAuliffe threw for all five of his scores in the first half – two each to Connor Dunlea and Grady Dunlea and one to Isaac Hernandez – as Lost River opened a 32-0 lead. Connor Dunlea had three catches for 92 yards and Grady Dunlea had three catches for 87 yards. Hernandez's only catch was a 62-yard score.

It was the first loss this season for Powder Valley, last year's runner-up. Cole Martin ran for a touchdown and threw to Jackson Chandler for a score for the Badgers.

Lost River advances to the final for the first time since winning 2A titles in 1997 and 2004.