Oregon School Activities Association
US Bank
Les Schwab Tire Centers

6A Football Playoff Qualifications

Rankings Freeze and Play-In Dates Summary

6A Football

32-team OSAA bracket

1)      Automatic Qualifiers – 24 teams automatically qualify for the OSAA’s 32-team bracket based on regular season and/or district tournament play.  Each league determines how they will select their allotted playoff spots. 

a)       PIL – 4; Metro – 4; Mt. Hood – 4; Three Rivers – 4; Greater Valley – 4; Southern Oregon – 4

PIL - Lincoln, Madison, Franklin, Grant
Metro - Jesuit, Beaverton, Westview, Century
Mt. Hood - Central Catholic, Clackamas, Centennial, Reynolds
Three Rivers - West Linn, Sherwood, Tigard, Lake Oswego
Greater Valley - West Salem, Sprague, McNary, McMinnville
Southwest - South Medford, Sheldon, Grants Pass, North Medford

2)      Rankings Freeze Date – The rankings will freeze at 10pm on Friday, October 28. 

3)      At-Large Qualifiers – Eight additional teams will qualify for the OSAA’s 32-team bracket based on the OSAA rankings.

a)       Once the rankings are frozen, the eight highest ranked teams not already an automatic league qualifier will qualify as At-Large teams.

At-Large #1 - Oregon City
At-Large #2 - Jefferson
At-Large #3 - South Salem
At-Large #4 - Sunset
At-Large #5 - Tualatin
At-Large #6 - Newberg
At-Large #7 - South Eugene
At-Large #8 - Southridge

4)      Rankings – Once the 32 qualifying teams are determined, they will be placed on the OSAA bracket according to OSAA Board Policy “State Championships – Rankings” .